The RAYNET Trophy, 1955 - 1992

RAYNET-UK is pleased to publish on this page details of awards of the RAYNET Trophy presented by RSGB prior to 1993.

RAYNET-UK thanks the Radio Society of Great Britain for supplying the information below.

If any reader, especially recipients can supply further details, we shall be very happy to update this page. Please contact us or via the post to:

9 Conigre
OX39 4JY

Holders of the RSGB RAYNET Trophy, 1955 - 1992

Year Recipient & Citation
1955 R.L.B. Dalby
1956 Mrs M. Jackson
1957 Mrs M. Jackson
1958 Mrs M. Jackson
1959 E.C. Hodson, A 1491
1960 R.H. Crowley
1961 F.W. Nash, G3RIS
1962 F.W. Nash, G3RIS
1963 S. Clements, BRS7323
1964 Surrey
1965 Manchester
1966 Cornwall
1967 ???
1968 ???
1969 Sussex Group
1970 ???
1971 Glasgow Group
1972 T.I. Lundegard, G3GJW
1973 ???
1974 Cumbrian Group
1975 Cornish Group
1976 Mrs Crane, Registration Secretary
1977 G.B. Lear, GW2HPG
1978 D.F. Digby, G8DHQ
1979 D.E. Garrington, GM3RFA
1980 Mrs J. Balestrini
1981 Not Awarded
1982 J.J.W. Comerford, GW8ENT
1983 J. Houlihan, G4BLJ
1984 Peter Best, G8CQH

For his contribution to a scheme for the unification of transceivers and accessories (now called CAIRO) and his leadership of a team that designed a Forward Communications Vehicle for the St. John Ambulance Brigade in the West Midlands.

1985 Martin Harrison, G3USF

On behalf of RAYNET members in Staffordshire and elsewhere who handled radio traffic in "Operation Mexico", the aftermath of the Mexico Earthquake. Click here for an account of events.

1986 Not Awarded
1987 D.F. Willies, G3HRK
1988 J.F. Stewart, G0CPR
1989 Ron Cowan, GM4SRL

On behalf of RAYNET members from many groups at Lockerbie.

1990 Not Awarded
1991 Romanian Relief
1992 Not Awarded

A company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales company number 2771954.
Registered office Far Cockcroft, Rishworth, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4SB.
Charity registered in England and Wales number 1047725 and in Scotland number SC046184.
Correspondence address: 9 Conigre, CHINNOR. OX39 4JY.